1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

a decision

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by bdemir, Jan 19, 2000.

1. bdemir

bdemir Member

well im finally buying the new truck and its probably going to be a gmc one ton stake truck but i want to know what would be the best engine and transmission combo and my other question is can i buy the dual wheels in the back instead of 4x4. Ive heard that people get by with these with a little weight in the back or do i just need to get a 4x4. Also what options would be recommended. Basically its my first time buying something like this and all the advice would be greatly appreciated.<p><br>I am open to comments an other makes and models .

2. GeoffD

GeoffD PlowSite.com Veteran

I think you are going to need 4X4, to plow snow. Only if you want to use 2wd get a heavy truck, maybe a Ford 550. If you get the 550 i would get the 7.3, with the auto trans, and the 5.13 rear end.<p>The other thing about 2wd is maybe for plowing all you need is 2wd in most spots. Only what happend when a major storm strikes and the roads have like 6 or 8 of snow on them, it happens all the time in maine. I bet if you have any hills to climb, 2wd will give you trouble fast, unless you want to plow the roads for free. <p>Also i think dual rear wheels are worse in the snow. Wider tire area, same drive train. I think i would want single rear wheels for 2wd in the snow. I could be wrong about this, so if i am someone please tell me.<p>Geoff<p>

3. plowking35

plowking35 2000 Club Member
    from SE CT