1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

99 Ford F-350 5.4 V8 5200# front axle

Discussion in 'Equipment, Tools & Vehicle Pictures' started by JCark, Sep 4, 2008.

1. JCark

JCark Member

hey guys, im new to this. I have been wanting a plow since i was about 4 and I finally have the ability to get a truck and a plow. I bought a used Superduty in great condition. it set me back 7 grand but worth it i think. tuesday it is going to fisher to get a new 8 ft HD installed. I just want your advice and input here. Fisher told me it would handle any plow i wanna put on it, but i know that they may just want to sell me a big plow (big price too). I just want to make sure the 8ft HD wont be too much since i see so many things about front axle problems in older superduties. also, what are timbrens, and how do they work? Are they easy to install? im not sure if ill need them or not... i know i have alot of questions, i figured all you pro's would know a bit more than my dealer.

2. ACS

ACS Member

Nice truck , Your truck should not even have a problem with that plow. Timbrens are just a load booster to help support the load of something heavy either up front or in the rear of your truck. So it does not sag down.
  3. Mark13

Mark13 PlowSite Fanatic

You'll be fine with that plow. Some guys run 9ft+ v plows, western wideouts, blizzard 810's etc on 1 tons. Your 8ft straight is no big deal.
  4. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

And don't forget to remove the aftermarket brush guard before you deliver it to the installer....or they will charge you extra to remove it before installing the plow. :)

BM'S PLOWING Member
    from MASS.