1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

95 k2500 manual, reverse shifting

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by ProLawn Outdoor, Nov 30, 2011.

1. ProLawn Outdoor

ProLawn Outdoor Senior Member

Hi guys,
    Just picked up a good deal on another plow truck. The truck is a 95 k2500 (tbi 350) with 5spd manual trans. I'm very new to manuals as my other truck is auto, I have never owned a manual. Just had a quick question. Truck runs and drives great, but Ive noticed when shifting in reverse sometimes, I here a grinding, then a clunk noise as it goes into gear. I do fully depress the clutch and this is from a dead stop. I believe the clutch is fine but i'm not sure. Does it need to be adjusted or something? Any one have any idea what this could be? It does not do this in any other gears, just shifting to reverse. And it doesn't do it every time, it is very intermittent. Anyone with some manual experience want to shed some light on this? Any advice is much appreciated as I would like to figure this out before potentially leads to another problem. Thanks!

2. mkwl

mkwl 2000 Club Member

Not an expert my any means, but maybe the synchro out of whack?

3. ProLawn Outdoor

Ive heard the reverse on these trannies does not have a synchro but the other 5 speeds do?? I have no idea, but if it does I think that could definitely be a possibility.

4. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Double clutch it.

5. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic