1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

93 Jeep Cherokee -- Can it handle a Fisher Snowplow ??

Discussion in 'Jeeps' started by waveridr33, Oct 1, 2005.

1. waveridr33

waveridr33 Junior Member

Was wondering if the suspension is able to handle a 6.5 Fisher electric plow--or does it have to be upgraded or would it be advisable not to plow with this vehicle---would it need coil over shocks for the extra weight or air shocks to handle the lifting of the extra plow weight ??? Any advice would be appreciated, thanks.

2. All_Clear

All_Clear Senior Member

3. waveridr33

waveridr33 Junior Member

Upgrade Suspension ???

Since I am a newbie on this forum and have seen pictures of some of the Cherokee's and awaiting reponses to upgrading the suspension on the front to offset the Fisher 6.5 plow weight etc---has anybody used air shocks on the front or air bags if so will the rear gabriel air shocks sold work on the front as well ??? Please need some tips !!

4. festerw

festerw Senior Member

I've got the Air Lift 1000 air springs waiting to go on the front of mine, I already have the Air Lift Ride Control bags on the back. About $300 for the air suspension all around. Any shocks that work on front end of the older 92-96 XJ's and the 97-04 TJ's should work on the 97-01 XJ.

5. KenG

KenG Senior Member
    from MA

A Cherokee can plow. Like most downsized vehicles, you will likely need to plow more frequently to keep up with larger storms.