1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

900k parking lot

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by snokane, Sep 19, 2014.

1. snokane

snokane Junior Member
    from Spokane

Please help me bid this job. I am new to commercial plowing.

I would really appreciate any information you can provide.

2. gc3

gc3 Senior Member

What do you have for equipment and how many people would you have helping you? What's your average snowfall for the year and how many events are there average?
  3. snokane

snokane Junior Member
    from Spokane

I have 6 trucks. The average snowfall is approx. 48in per year. 51 snow events per year that are at least 1in. I am just looking for a starting point; IE, time to plow, average-below average price range as I am new and looking to get customers. I appreciate it GC.
  4. snokane

snokane Junior Member
    from Spokane

I know my math doesn't exactly add up, but those are the numbers I found for Spokane County.
  5. Longae29

Longae29 PlowSite.com Addict

20 acres isn't a good lot to get your feet wet on. When, not if, but when you fail there would be severe financial consequences brought on to you by the customer. Move on. Start small. Work your way up to this.
  6. gc3

gc3 Senior Member

You don't have any skidsteers or loaders?

DERHNTR Junior Member

That's a bunch of plowing. We get 60-80 inches in my area and only have about 10-12 plowing events on avg.
  8. TCLA

TCLA 2000 Club Member

You'll need to have an understanding of their SOW/spec's before you can come up with numbers. What kind of place is this? Looks like a storage facility of some sort. They normally don't have high-end expectations.