1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

9 HP Tecumseh engine RPM

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by DEWFPO, Dec 13, 2012.

1. DEWFPO

DEWFPO Junior Member

This is on a Sears Craftsmen 9.0 HP/28" wide snow blower. Circa, 2001.

The engine ran fine 2 weeks ago, started it yesterday to clear snow piles and the engine RPM was hunting up/down the entire time I used it (45 mins).

It typically only does it when first started, but once warmed up the rpm smoothes out and stays steady. Yesterday the rpm would not stop hunting. I stopped the engine and restarted it and it continued to do the same thing.

Is this a governor problem? (I have plenty of engine experience but none with governor controlled engines). A week governor spring?

It has good fuel w/stabilizer and has always run strong. It always starts on the first pull of the cord.

Any other possibilities?

If it's a funky governor, how is this condition solved?

Thanks for the benefit of your experience.

DEWFPO

2. DEWFPO

DEWFPO Junior Member

Forgot to mention.... there's no smoke coming out of the exhaust when the engine is hunting/surging back and forth.

DEWFPO

3. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

I would say its air. Spray the carb base and intake area with carb cleaner. If it rises or dies,,,,gaskets are bad

4. jasonv

jasonv PlowSite.com Addict
    from kannada

Find the service manual for that engine (search the internet), and figure out the governor adjustment procedure. Governor once went out of whack on one of my Honda 5's, that's what it took to fix -- governor adjustment.