1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

9'-6" Western V Plow For 2004 F350 Crew

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by CENLO, Jul 12, 2004.

1. CENLO

CENLO Member

Hey Guys, great site! I have been plowing for about 6 years and have about 60 contracts. I just purchased a 2004 f350 diesel, supercrew. I want to mount a 2004 9'-6" Western v plow. The book says that a 8' pro-plow is the only suitable plow for this truck.................no way! For the last 4 years I have been pushing an 8' pro-plow on a 2001 f150 7700#gvw (no problems) I have even carried that same plow on a 2003 f150 supercrew! What do you guys think? Everyone I talk to says to buy the 8'-6" v plow but for a couple hundred bucks and a 100# more weight why not a bigger plow?

2. ratlover

ratlover PlowSite.com Addict
    from IL

No personal experience with your set up but western/fisher will both say no way. I dont even think they want a 8.5 V on there. The ford diesel is a heavy SOB and a crew cab plus the diesel puts alot of weight on the nose. 100+ pounds is seen as alot more to your axel when its sticking out in front of you. Beter run alot of ballast in the back. I have a reg cab and a much lighter motor and I have to run 1000#'s to get my FAWR in check. It does handle it like a champ though.

I know you will be over the FAWR but will the truck handle it??? I guess one way to find out??? I'm pretty sure the pro and the V share the same mount??? Maybe buy the push plates and see if you can try hanging some different blades up front to see what your comfortable with? I think all the western pro and v push plates are the same???

3. cja1987

cja1987 PlowSite.com Addict