1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

9.2 V broken lower right wing

Discussion in 'Boss Plows Discussion' started by APLC, Oct 23, 2011.

1. APLC

APLC Senior Member

Well I picked this plow up on a great deal from a company that was basically bankrupt. the lower part of the hing in broken on the right side and it looks like some half ASS WELDER tried to fix it but looks like they did more damage then anything. has anyone ever fixed this? also what does a wing normally cost (9.2 v Steel RT3)? I am a pretty good welder and also own a great welder so i could fix this but just wanted a little inside info from other boss owners. Also this happened because this plow was on a F450 dump truck with crappy drivers and a company that didn't care. other then this piece this plow functions prefectally and still looks good

Thanks in advance

image (2).jpg

image.jpg

2. framer1901

framer1901 Senior Member

That is probably the weakest point on a Boss Vee, and not everyone owns great welders or has the time and skill to fix that.

The blade is probably bent and you'll only get it back to correct so much so we make new lower hinge pieces, cut it all apart, bend it back as good as you can and weld it back together. A bunch of work. New wing is maybe 900-1000 something like that.

Some like their plows perfect and scratch free - we prefer them to function. A slightly bent wing in my mind is no big deal, put a new one on and a guy hits a manhole cover and you're back to bent again................

Take the time now to fix it right and it'll last till you hit something, just like a new wing would.

3. APLC

APLC Senior Member