1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

89 s15 as a plow truck?

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by Kraman_25, Sep 2, 2002.

1. Kraman_25

Kraman_25 Junior Member

I have an 89 S15 reg cab that I'm considering getting a used plow for. I am only thinking of doing some small driveways (25' x 20'), and am considering doing a couple gas stations. Would this be ok? I have just replaced the upper/lower ball joints, idler arm, both hub assemblys, and tie rod ends. I've never done any plowing before, and so have been reading on your site for tips and things, and I've seen people talking about the plow for an s10 being between 6'6" and 7'6". What would be the best for what I am wanting to do?

Thanks for the info.

2. CT18fireman

CT18fireman Banned

Talk to Alan. he is a moderator on here. He plows with S-10s. I plow with Toyotas for small areas and have found them to be well suited. I run 6.5 to 7.5ft blades on them depending on how the truck is set up. They have plenty of power for 7.5ft blades in everything bu heavy wet snow.

3. Kraman_25

Kraman_25 Junior Member

As far as power goes, I don't think I will have any problems, although I could be wrong. I have a 22' car hauler that I routinely tow with my truck and it tows it just fine. 70 mph on the highway. My curb weight right now on the truck is 4140 on an empty tank of gas and no one in it. I am running 30x9.50 Bridgestone Dueler AT tires. I currently have 208k miles on the truck.

4. sonjaab

sonjaab PlowSite.com Addict

KRAMAN.........Watertown NY huh. I am just up the
    road in ALex. Bay ! I own a motel there.
    Drop me a email we can hook
    up and have a cold one ! sonjaab@aol.com
    A couple of guys use S-10s to plow on this