1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

89 2500 font end poping or something.

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by the new boss 92, Jan 20, 2012.

1. the new boss 92

the new boss 92 2000 Club Member

so i have been noticing that my front end like pops, hops and bangs around everytime i go in a cul-du-sac! does anyone know what would cause this or point me in the right direction? my cvs are tight, new idler arm. it has a steering stabilizer and the 8600lb gvrw and a 5.7.

im not very good with front end noise i just know its not right!

2. plowguy43

plowguy43 PlowSite Fanatic

My 04 Ram did something similar and it was the wheel bearing. Only happened while turning at first then progressively got worse.

3. the new boss 92

chitty, im going to check it out and see.

4. plowguy43

plowguy43 PlowSite Fanatic

Crap I just remembered it needed a ujoint as well which I would be more inclined to think would cause the popping sound.

Even though the CV feels tight, that sounds like it could be the problem.

5. Snowzilla

Snowzilla Senior Member
    from Iowa

I agree with plowguy43. In a fwd car I have experienced this when turning tight in parking lots and it was the cv joint. I don't know of a method to check a cv for wear. But for your truck they are reasonable at auto stores as complete 1/2 shafts with both inner & outer cv's included.

6. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

hey boss,,,is it like a clicking while turning????

7. oneoldsap

oneoldsap Senior Member

Sounds like a front CV shaft to me ! They fail every couple of years when doing alot of plowing , as do wheel bearings . I've gotten to where I can almost do either one in my sleep !

8. the new boss 92