1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

87 4runner not clearing good

Discussion in 'Import and Other Trucks (Light Duty)' started by 87TOY, Dec 9, 2005.

1. 87TOY

87TOY Junior Member

Hi guys, just like to say this is a great website. Lots of knowledgeable users on it. I am a newbie. Got an 87 4runner and put a old convential cable controlled western plow on it. Came off a Chevy. Cut it down to 6.5' and made a mount to fit truck.
    It plows snow well, but doesn't really scrap all the snow off. I am assuming you want to see asphault after. It leaves a packed down layer of snow sometimes. I use it for my driveway and couple of friends. Nothing too serious.
    Any suggestions would be great.
    Thanks
    Eric

2. sixspeed

sixspeed Senior Member

Hello:

It should scrape well... a few basic suggestions: are the shoes (if you use them) adjusted properly? is plow going into float mode when you put it "down"? Is the chain adjusted properly to allow the plow to droop all the way to follow the surface? Cutting edge okay?? When you fabbed the mount did you keep the same "plow geometry" as a factory plow (like, is the angle of attack the same)??? Good luck!

Last edited: Dec 10, 2005
  3. 87TOY

87TOY Junior Member