1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

810 power hitch wont unhitch but will hitch

Discussion in 'Blizzard Plows Discussion' started by KCGman, Jan 15, 2011.

1. KCGman

KCGman Junior Member

Older Blizzard 810 I can lower plow with cab controller. I go to unhitch with toggle and it makes noise like it wants to work but acts like it is binding. I can move the toggle in the opposite direction and it tightens the hitch and raises the plow.
    Please help so I can get the plow off my truck!
    Thanks

2. Barrakudaman

Barrakudaman Member

pins in the power hitch bent and wont allow it to move? I had a similar issue with my plow but it moved hard/not all the way to full down position. I am no expert though.

3. KCGman

KCGman Junior Member

I just pulled the pin in the "claw" to get it off. Nothing appears to be bent or binding. I wanted to get it in the garage and thaw it out. Something I just thought of, I had a line blow in the middle of the storm and I put a new one on, it was the right angle hose. I had to back the plow up on a curb and ratchet strap it up to make it to get a hose. Could I have "confused" it somehow? It goes up and down with the cab controller. Isn't this the same cylinder? I'm stumped! Seems electrical to me but yet it makes a noise like it wants to do something but it is that binding noise like when you try to move it in a direction and it is already maxed out.

4. Barrakudaman

Barrakudaman Member

It maybe as simple as just a bad toggle switch on the plow. Or cleaning the terminals of the switch. If you go to blizzards websight you can look up the owners manual with troubleshooting info.

Last edited: Jan 15, 2011
  5. damian

damian Senior Member