1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

8.1 lt L18

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by scottr, Feb 29, 2016.

1. scottr

scottr Senior Member

Im very new to the Bow Tie engines, and this is not related to snowplowing. But I'll ask anyway. I've been thinking about a new project to build and decided to build a rock crawler. I have access to a fresh built 8.1 lt and all the controls needed to run it. ( ECM, etc) question is, what are some weak points of this engine or things to be aware of? I know it's heavy and likely not a real mileage getter. I've been researching on line, but would also like to hear from you guys that use and work them. Thanks for your input.

2. Joe D

Joe D Senior Member

Define built. The cam, heads, intake are the weak points in the 8.1. Unless you already own it, go with the 6.0. For short money you can get great power out of them.

3. scottr

scottr Senior Member

I followed up on this some more last night, I was told it has less than 50K on the motor, I took that as "re-built" come to find out, that's all it has on it. Belongs to my buddy who will give it to me for this project. Thanks for the info about the intake, do they tend to suck air? leak oil? This is the only reason for me using a 8.1 price.Thumbs Up

4. secret_weapon

secret_weapon Senior Member

What year is the engine? Earlier engines (pre '03?) had some crank sensor issues.
    They burn some oil, so check level often.
    Any major upgrades will be very expensive $$$$. Cam and heads. The stock intake flows just fine even with an aggressive tune. Stock exhaust flows just fine too.
    I have heard of some engines having problems with eating lifters and cams but nt sure on years.