1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

8.1 L GM engines burning oil

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Lawn Lad, Jun 10, 2003.

1. Lawn Lad

Lawn Lad Senior Member

Anyone notice that their big block engines burn oil? We've been surprised that the two trucks we have with the big blocks (both 2002's) burn about 1 to 2 qts between oil changes.

I asked the dealer and he said... "Oh ya, that's what they do". Doesn't sound like a very satisfactory answer. But then again I'm not an engineer or mechanic and don't really understand the 'physiology' of a truck engine.

2. Chuck Smith

Chuck Smith 2000 Club Member
    from NJ

Just out of curiousity, how many miles are on these motors?

~Chuck

3. long0

long0 Senior Member

This came up previsouly here.

Like Earthscapes said "Welcome to the world of big blocks"

4. Joey D

Joey D Senior Member

Typical dealer. There is a fix for the 8.1 oil usage. It is the intake manifold bolts. Any dealer should know the fix available.

5. Lawn Lad

Lawn Lad Senior Member

Fewer than 6,000 miles on the one and about 10,000 on the other.

I'll ask the service department, not my sales man even though he's a fairly knowledgeable guy.

6. Ohiosnow

Ohiosnow Senior Member
    from Ohio

Lawn Lad

I think it's the luck of the draw, I've only had 1 BB Chevy use oil but it was all in the first 15,000 miles ;)