1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

77 M880

Discussion in 'Ram Trucks' started by Tarpy, Jan 22, 2008.

1. Tarpy

Tarpy Junior Member

Noob here so I'm hoping to tap into some of the knowledge here. I've got a 77 M880 (essentially a 3/4 ton, I know it was rated at 5/4 ton) and I'm looking for some suggestions on a plow for the rig.

In addition, I've got a bead on a used (in good shape) plow, frame, pump, res., values, etc from a old sno-fiter. I believe the year is between 77 - 82 (the owners not sure) and I'm wondering if this would fit on the M880 without a ton of pain. I know that I may have to invest some cash on rehabbing the pump or valves (I've been assured that the plow is in good working order, although you never know). and I'd like to go this route since I'm just doing my own long rural drive and lending the truck to a few friends to do their drives. What should I look for in that used rig (I'm sure the list is lengthy), what should I be worried about, how can I make sure it fits the M880 without having to get into the fabrication business.

Any help you can give is appreciated. If I've not given enough info please let me know and I'll provide all I can.

2. RODHALL

RODHALL Senior Member

old dodges work great 318 motor 727 transmission 203 tansfer case Dana 44 front dana 60 read, keep the front end greased
    Sno fiter ended in 78 Hyd plows last almost forever. i have a 72 snofiter plow on my 86 most you have to do is hoses and rebuild the cyl when they start leaking.

Sno comander elect over hyd hoses But i never liked that you have to send the pump out to be rebuilt.

As far as the plow fitting any plow frame of 72-93 dodge truck will work.