1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

75 3/4 t 350 mods..will they help??

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by Hankster, Sep 4, 2002.

1. Hankster

Hankster Junior Member

I'm new at chevies so...We are doing a total rebuild/restore of my wifes truck.New body etc. We've already had the tranny rebuilt for towing by a local shop...now I'm looking at the engine while the body is off.....
    It has duals and factory intake and a 1970 q-jet.
    will a newer rebuilt q-jet,Edelbrock Performer Intake and 1 5/8 headers make a noticeable improvement over what we have now??It's a 2wd we use primarily for towing a horse trailer weighing close to 7000 lbs loaded. It tows fine now on flat roads,but could use some extra power in the hilly areas we come to.If the headers won't add much over the duals we now have....what about the new intake??? any other ideas???
  2. CT18fireman

CT18fireman Banned

Wait for 75 to respond. He is working on a simliar project right now.
  3. TLS

TLS PlowSite.com Addict

What is the condition of the engine? If it's OK, then I would suggest a set of Doug Thorley Tri-Y headers. They are 14 gauge heavy wall industrial chrome plated tubing with nice thick flanges that will not bend or warp. They will dump into a nice single 3" exhaust. This will flow better and give you better low to mid rpm power than regular headers and duals.

The Edelbrock performer is a nice manifold, and a good rebuilt Q-Jet or a Edelbrock Q-Jet is a nice choice.

I wish I had the time/money to restore my '75 Suburban, as restoring my old '76 pickup was a nice rewarding project. Sure wish I wouldn't have sold it!!!

Here's a pic...

\'76 chevy1.jpg
  4. Hankster

Hankster Junior Member