1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

7.5 or 8 foot Plow?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by fun52dig, Dec 15, 2004.

1. fun52dig

fun52dig Junior Member
    from nj

I am new to the snow plow business. I just purchased a 2004 HD F250 SC and don't know if I should go with a 7.5' or 8' plow on this truck. Can anyone give advice on this purchase.

2. PlowKid150

PlowKid150 Senior Member

Definetely go with an 8 footer. for 2 reasons.

1. The lenght of the truck you are putting the plow on is a pretty long setup, as well as wide, and 7.5 will JUUUUUUUST be wide enough. Plus when you are making wide turns, your rear wheels will run in the unplowed path. Goi with an 8!!!!!

2. The 8 foot blade is no more than a hundred bucks more, and that extra 6 inches weighs nearly nothing. For the long term investment, go with the 8 foot. It is the most important 6 inch upgrade i think...
  3. johntwist

johntwist Senior Member

That mostly depends on what you're plowing, commercial or residential.

Your truck can handle the 8 foot. My way of deciding the same question was that if my truck could handle the bigger blade, why not use the vehicle to it's full potential? So I went with the 8. An 8 footer can be a bit on the big side for doing some narrow driveways, but it's better for doing lots. I just don't take a driveway job that's too small for the blade, and since I'm not in the city, that really not a problem I see.

You can compare prices too, but for the difference I still think the 8 is the way to go. In the end though, you have to decide what's best for you.
  4. osbo68

osbo68 Member