1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

62,000 square foot lot

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by Lawnguy1, Sep 19, 2006.

1. Lawnguy1

Lawnguy1 Junior Member

I am bidding a 62,000 sq ft. plaza lot that is all straight runs using an 05 F-350 with an 8' Fisher blade. The front area is an acre with no obstacles two smaller parking areas on either side and a 3 lane pass going across the back of the building. The contract is less than one mile of my house- They would like a per trip price with salt included.

Could anyone give me a good idea of what I should be charging for this? I would really like to get the contract but I don't want to cut myself short. I've been plowing residential for 3 years and I want to move up to some commercial work.

I am thinking in the ballpark of between $150-200 a trip plus salt?

I am not sure what the going rate is or what I should even use to salt with??

Thanks for you input.
  2. shamp

shamp Member

I would say that price is a little low for that lot. Your looking at little over 1-1/2 acres so it should take you roughly 1-1/2 to 2 hrs. to clear 2"- 4" of snow most guys average around 120- 150 per hr. I would set the contract for say since your new to doing commercial lots at 125 per hr bill for 2 hrs. = 250.00 for plowing. best way to salt is with a v-box and get bulk salt but since your only looking at 1 lot so far you may wont to save the money and go with tailgate spreader. The normal for price is twice what you pay.
  3. Gicon

Gicon Senior Member
    from MA