1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

6 week old plow will not move!

Discussion in 'Hiniker' started by bjohnson97, Jan 28, 2011.

1. bjohnson97

bjohnson97 Junior Member

I am totally new to plows. I just bought a 7 1/2 conventional plow about 6 weeks ago. I only use it for my lane, and my other families lanes on the family farm. Last night while I was plowing my last lane I went to move my plow left and right and all the remote does is click repeatedly like there is a bad connection. I check all of the connections that I can see. Un did them and put them back and no change. So I then tried to raise the plow and the same thing click click click click....you get the idea. Is there something simple that I am missing here. My dealer is about a 40 minute drive away and I can't get there easily with a plow that will not go up. I ended up having to take the plow off of the truck and leave it in my grandpas driveway. Totally frustrated!!!

Brad Johnson
    Ottawa, Illinois

NICHOLS LANDSCA PlowSite Veteran

I'd pull the controller apart and see if a wire came off. I have no idea, sorry I can't be more help
  3. NBI Lawn

NBI Lawn PlowSite.com Addict

The the solenoid clicks? I would guess it has to be a loose wire. be sure to check ground wires really well. I would also guess that the plow itself is just fine so no need to go get it just to work on it. Double and tripple check all wires.

Was this purchased new? If you do have to take it to the dealer go hook up to the plow and push into a snow bank until the plow is raised. Hook a chain from the A-Frame new the moldboard to a spot up by the pump and see if you can "short chain" it.
  4. Daveyo

Daveyo Member
    from 6