1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

40-60 Residentials... how would you do it

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by THELC, Oct 28, 2015.

1. THELC

THELC Junior Member

Here's the scoop (pun intended)... I am a large lawn care business owner getting into snow removal. Have a contract for between 40-60 residential properties (driveways and sidewalks) located in one county. I average about 7 minutes drive time per property. Unlike typical residential properties, I have 48 hours to remove the snow from each property. I am expecting to work 16 hours a day for the two days following each snowfall. My insurance policy is set up to allow me to add subcontractors or employees quickly if needed.

My question for you is how would you do it? Discuss equipment, how many driveways/sidewalks you avg per hour with your setup, the time benefit of one man crew vs 2 or 3 man crews etc.

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Are these places vacant? If not You Dont have 48 hours to get done 6 to 8 hours max. One truck and a shoveler

3. Randall Ave

Randall Ave PlowSite.com Addict

This, do you have any equipment, what trucks do you own. If a big storm, and you wait, you may need a machine.

4. Mark Oomkes

Mark Oomkes PlowSite Fanatic

I don't get it.

Your on site time is 7 minutes or your drive time between accounts is 7 minutes?

I also don't get the 48 hours thing, even spread around I don't know why it would take that long.

I'm guessing they're foreclosures and that's why you have 48 hours?

5. 1olddogtwo

1olddogtwo PlowSite Fanatic

Lets say 60 driveways with the average including travel of 10 minutes....that's 600 mins, or 10hrs.