1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

4 Wheel Hi or Lo?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by RB, Nov 29, 2000.

1. RB

RB Senior Member

Is it always necessary to plow in 4 wheel Lo? This is my first year out. I bought a new Chev. 2500 w/Meyer 7.5. The salesperson said I need to be in 4 Wheel Lo at all times when I'm plowing. all my lots with a few exception are flat. I think I can plow in 4 Wheel Hi. Any help?

2. plowking35

plowking35 2000 Club Member
    from SE CT

Our gas trucks with autos plow in 4 low 95% of the time. that is why the 205 t case is nice, it ha a higher gear ration, so reverse isnt so slow. All standards can use 4 hi.
    All diesels plow 4 hi, the low range causes to many rpms, and I dont like revving the diesels all night.
    Dino

3. OBRYANMAINT

OBRYANMAINT PlowSite.com Veteran
    from ohio

i plow in 4 high and two wheel depending on amount of snow

4. TLS

TLS PlowSite.com Addict

I only plow in Low Range when the snow is heavy and deep. Other than that, its 4 HI. I think Low range is dangerous for me because I run 2500+ lbs of salt and a spreader in the back and if I blip the big block, I may just twist an axle or something. There is just too much torque multiplication in 4LO. Just be careful if you have traction. What rear gears do you have? I like 4HI because I can shift to 2HI when turning around in a dry street or whatever. And on a parking lot, reverse is too slow in 4LO.

I'm wondering just how slow a new Allison is in reverse 4LO? They have a real low first gear and a lower reverse. On these Allisons, Low Range is just about useless unless your climbing a rocky cliff!

[Edited by dixie1 on 11-29-2000 at 02:11 PM]

5. yardsmith