1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

    Dismiss Notice

4/wd issue

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by EaTmYtAiLpIpEs, Dec 12, 2008.

  1. EaTmYtAiLpIpEs

    EaTmYtAiLpIpEs 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,607

    I just got done plowing. and on my last account my 4/wd wouldnt work. so I shut the truck off and put the switch back into 4/wd and it worked. now it wont work. I had to have the hubs and acuator replaced in july of 07. I had them put warn manual lock outs on the front and a brand new acuator. I am thinking maybe the acuator crapped the bed again. I am going to put new tires on my truck in a little bit and when I have it on the lift I am gonna check everything. Any ideas?
     
  2. MAR4CARS

    MAR4CARS Senior Member
    Messages: 246

    Was the 4x4 light flashing when it wasnt workin ?
     
  3. EaTmYtAiLpIpEs

    EaTmYtAiLpIpEs 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,607

    ya it was. now when you flip the switch on it dont even work at all. I have 2 switches. I bought a new one when I bought the truck because i thought that was the problem. so I switched them out today and that didnt matter. so now when you put it into 4/wd the light wont even come on unless it by chance goes into 4/wd.
     
  4. Ggg6

    Ggg6 Senior Member
    from IL
    Messages: 521

    Do you have 12v at the actuator plug? If so then it is the actuator.
     
  5. EaTmYtAiLpIpEs

    EaTmYtAiLpIpEs 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,607

    I havent checked. I am going to check when it is on the lift.
     
  6. MAR4CARS

    MAR4CARS Senior Member
    Messages: 246

    Scan the truck for codes? Flashing 4wd light usually indicates a code stored.
     
  7. EaTmYtAiLpIpEs

    EaTmYtAiLpIpEs 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,607

    lights not flashing tho. light just doesnt come on. I am wondering if there is a solenoid or fuse somewhere that is bad.
     
  8. Ggg6

    Ggg6 Senior Member
    from IL
    Messages: 521

    The 4x4 light is triggered by a proximity switch in the t-case. If the actuator doesn't shift then no light. To scan for drivetrain codes you will need a better scanner than what the auto parts stores have. That is why I said check for 12v at the actuator. If you have 12v then the problem is the actuator, if not then look upstream for fuses, bad switch etc.
     
  9. EaTmYtAiLpIpEs

    EaTmYtAiLpIpEs 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,607

    which wire do I test the 2 plug or the 6 plug. and which one is the power and ground. the 2 plug is orange and red.
     
  10. EaTmYtAiLpIpEs

    EaTmYtAiLpIpEs 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,607

    going to 4x heaven today to have it checked
     
  11. nymustang50

    nymustang50 Senior Member
    Messages: 129

    The 6 i believe is the one you check. the two wire one is for speed sensor out of t case. But I could be wrong.
     
  12. Ggg6

    Ggg6 Senior Member
    from IL
    Messages: 521

    I can't remember if the actuator power leds were seperated from the control plug (6 wire) or not. I do remembe the power leads for the actuator are heavier gage than the control wires. Also you may see a negtive 12v or positave 12v depending on what function is selected. Two small gage wires would be for the speed sensor.
     
  13. EaTmYtAiLpIpEs

    EaTmYtAiLpIpEs 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,607

    no power at the switch, no power at the motor. when this happend before there was no power down there either.
     
  14. Spitz

    Spitz Senior Member
    Messages: 192

    Well there is a controller, the tcase motor that has feedback contacts in it ( that tell the control where the motor is in its position) and the switch.. Sounds like you need to pull the code, a lot of the time the contacts go tits up and the motor will not shift because it does not know which way to go and how far.
     
  15. EaTmYtAiLpIpEs

    EaTmYtAiLpIpEs 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,607


    would that stop the 4x4 light from comming on, on the dash also?
     
  16. Spitz

    Spitz Senior Member
    Messages: 192

    The light wont go on if it doesnt shift, and it wont shift unless the controler knows where the motor is in its position. Lots of stuff to check however, would best be left to someone with a wiring diagram and a test light to see whats up..


    Most times we dont even "test" anything, we get a motor from the parts store and just plug it in and see if it works, this rules out the motor right away for us.. Its just quicker to test it like that, than spend 1/2 checking everything, if its not that, then we dig into it deeper and get more involved..
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2008
  17. Ggg6

    Ggg6 Senior Member
    from IL
    Messages: 521

    No power at the switch,, check the fuse. But the question is why did the fuse blow.
    Spitz what does your shop do with the new shift motor if the old one was good?
     
  18. Spitz

    Spitz Senior Member
    Messages: 192

    I return it, its a new part all we did was plug it in.. They can prove we installed it, nor would they cross us as we do thousands in business a month.. :)
     
  19. EaTmYtAiLpIpEs

    EaTmYtAiLpIpEs 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,607

    I took it to the 4x4 specialist yesterday hey checked every fuse and relay and they were all good. all the ones under the hood are good. I have a feeling its the motor I am going to order one on monday. overnight for tuesday.
     
  20. Spitz

    Spitz Senior Member
    Messages: 192

    Make sure if you just plug it in to ground it to something, some of those motors have a "case ground" on them..