1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

3/4 ton plow truck

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by fastxcr800, Oct 16, 2008.

1. fastxcr800

fastxcr800 Member

i found a plow truck and the price is right, but i'm looking for some thoughts. The truck is 1988 GMC 2500 with 192,000 miles. The seller is a personal friend and i know for a fact that the truck has been maintained. He has owned the truck since new and used it to plow the parking lot at a laundry shop he used to own. He is asking $3500 for the truck. This is my first year plowing and i have a small amount of jobs lined up for this season, some driveways and small lots. I only need the truck to last my till next year when i've budgeted for a newer truck. Is this feasible?? should i walk away from the deal??

2. sechracer

sechracer Senior Member

If the truck was maintained really well, yes. Provided it runs and drives well. Check the front end and make sure everything is tight. Is the plow on the front of it conventional or something newer style?

$3500 aint too bad for a truck with a plow. Figure a late 90's with around the same miledge would cost you probably $3k for the truck, then atleast another $1500 for a decent used plow setup.

Also, if the truck is mechanically sound, it should last more than 1 season.

3. fastxcr800

fastxcr800 Member

the plow was bought with the truck from the dealer when it was new. i'm pretty sure the plow is a western. also the truck has a manual trans. will that hold up better or worst than an auto trans

4. ducatirider944

ducatirider944 Senior Member
    from Iowa