1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

3/4 or 1 ton

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by kelven11, Jan 5, 2006.

1. kelven11

kelven11 Junior Member

Hey guys! I have been reading on the site for a while and finally signed up.
    I have been plowing for 3 years using a Honda 450 with a 60in moose plow. Been using it to do driveways and sidewalks as well as my small commerical lots. I have been subcontracting my bigger lots out. I am looking forward to next year already as I am planning on getting a newer truck with a plow to do everything myself. I was just wondering if I should go with the 1 ton or would the 3/4 ton be good enough. I am looking at Blizzard 810 power plow or something along those lines.

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Are you planning on doing any sanding or salting? If not - go with the 3/4 ton. If so, consider a one ton if you're going to use a Vbox. A 3/4 ton will handle a tailgate model fine. A one ton is generally more expensive to register, maintain and repair. Resale value is questionable, but I'd say it's still better with a 3/4 ton.

3. ratlover

ratlover PlowSite.com Addict
    from IL

Depends what truck modle IMO. Also if its new. Alotof times I would say get a SRW 1 ton. Depends on what running gear you get with it, some 3/4 tons used the beefier trans ect and some didnt. You could get a HD 1/2 ton or a LD 3/4 ton or a heavy 3/4 ton:dizzy: If its a new truck then the waters get real muddy becasue the designations really dont mean squat anymore. For instance the new 2500HD cheevys are actually the old 1ton designation:rolleyes: