1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

2wd FSUPERDUTY dually for plowing?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by BSseal, Nov 19, 2001.

1. BSseal

BSseal Junior Member

I am new to this and am looking at trucks for a sealcoating business opening in the spring. I looked in the archives but wasn't satisfied. I might be asking the same question and if so I am sorry for wasting ur time but am I crazy thinking I can do some plowing with a 2wd truck? I am in NY about 50 miles or so outside of NYC. I am looking at a 88 or 89 FSUPERDUTY dually rack body. It has a plow on it and that got me interested in plowing but I don't wanna get stuck. Would I do ok with a load in the back and some cable chains? Should I stick to the flat parking lots? Or should I stay home? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

The truck shows 74,000 miles, its in excellent shape and has no real major wear. Its diesel so should just have been broken in.
    Is 8 grand a fair price or should I keep lookin?
  2. CT18fireman

CT18fireman Banned

For plowing a large lot or even a road that truck would probably work with a good amount of weight in the rear (v-box spreader or a lot of sand) You will have a difficult time plowing driveways or anything with hills. I suggest that you look into a 4wd if you want to be real serious about plowing in the notheast. There are a number of members not far from you. I think they will agree they could not be as affective with a 2wd.
  3. Michael F

Michael F Senior Member