1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

2wd Dually vs. 4x4?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by mlc4163, Sep 26, 2001.

1. mlc4163

mlc4163 Member

Have been surfing the past posting but haven't seen this issue addressed directly.
    I'm new to the business and I'm trying to weigh buying a used 3/4 or One ton dually from a local Yuppy who bought it for hauling the boat a couple times a month, clean and hopefully just broke in, or buying a new 4x4 for summer lawn maintenance / landscaping and winter for snow removal. I'm in the Cincinnati area which is somewhat hilly. We don't really get that much snow compared to northern states. Anybody been down this road? Any advise for the new kid on the block? Have a sister working for GM so get the "A" plan so to speak and their are some good incentives. But a fair number of Duallies out their for sale too at 1/3 to 1/2 the price.
  2. alfman

alfman Junior Member

I have done both. I used to use one ton 2 wheel drive dumps and they plow O.K. as long as you have some weight in the bed (I had a spreader in mine)But sometimes having 4x4 really helps,ex.steering in bad weather, hills, ice and deep snow also deter using a 2 wheel drive.I prefer to use a 4x4 because in most applications it plow quicker and you have a bit more security out in a storm a 3 a.m.
  3. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

How about a 1 ton Dually 4x4 and get the best of both worlds? Given the choices you gave and the hills you mention, I think you'll be better off with the 4x4T for pushing snow. First time you're pushing down hill and get bogged down and can't get traction to back up, you'll curse ever hearing about two wheel drive.
  4. 75