1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

2nd place bid

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by bigearl, Oct 17, 2007.

1. bigearl

bigearl Senior Member

I have been plowing my church for a couple of years now at a reasonable rate. I found out Monday that I was $1100.00 higher than the guy who had it before I did. Last year I broke even maybe made a little $ So I marked it up 10% ( what the price of fuel went up ) I thought that it was a great price until this guy under bid me. Do you think this makes me look bad? I was up there ever morning and every night ( very Active Church ) making sure the lot was cleared. I guess only time will tell.
  2. JD Dave

JD Dave PlowSite Fanatic

Does the new guy go to your church?
  3. bigearl

bigearl Senior Member

No, I heard that he is under bidding everyone I guess he bids them first then worries about service.
  4. ABES

ABES PlowSite.com Addict
    from MN

you could do it as charity then use it as a tax write off. thats what a lot of people seem to be doing...
  5. bigearl

bigearl Senior Member

If I had a million $ I would But I still have to pay the bills.
  6. Snowpower

Snowpower Senior Member

Did they even give you a chance to negotiate?

Thats cold. What would Jesus do? (Prolly a lowballer. What with being able to plow an acre every five minutes....lol)
  7. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic

We have a contract that is multi year. Each year we get a raise. The raise is determined by the rate of inflation. They understand that fuel is our biggest fluctuating expense so 20% of our raise is determined by fuel and the rest determined by the increase in everything else. This year our raise was 2.9%.

Total inflation was 1.9%