1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

277 Cat with Tracks?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by 08F3506.4L, Jan 17, 2008.

1. 08F3506.4L

08F3506.4L Member

I have found a good deal on a newer 277 Cat with tracks. I have never used one before, I have heard they do OK with a 10' box but have no proof. What do you guys think? By the way I love the site and look foward to hearing your thoughts!

2. jeff45

jeff45 Junior Member

i dont have experience with that particular machine, but from what ive read track machines arent as good in the snow because they float on top of it rather that dig to the pavement. i also think i read that most people recomend a 8' box for them.
  3. Plowfast9957

Plowfast9957 Senior Member

Like Jeff said I think you would be better off with an 8 footer. The 10 would be fine in lighter storms. The mall I plow at runs a 277 and 287 with 8's.
  4. pwrstroke6john

pwrstroke6john Senior Member

I would say a track machine would work just fine, but a 10 footer may be pushing the limit, also for the summer months a track machine will cause much less damage on turf then a skidsteer
  5. jkrak

jkrak Junior Member
    from midwest

Trax are a no-go! What you need is less tread area on the concrete which gives you more ground pressure. Tall and thin tires with an aggressive tread is the only way to go. It is a custom fit for the skidsteers, new rims, tires etc.
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2008
  6. RipT

RipT Senior Member