1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

22 Series Trips too easily?

Discussion in 'Sno-Way Discussion' started by PhatSupraTT, Jan 31, 2008.

1. PhatSupraTT

PhatSupraTT Member

It's my first year plowing and I've got a 22 series mounted on a 2000 Tacoma. I know it's a light duty plow but it seems to trip too easily. I plow several apartment buildings, one is gravel. If I hit what I consider to be a small rut, the plow trips flat on it's face and it's quite irritating. A lot of times vehicles are in the way so I of course plow around them. If they aren't there the next snowfall, it's a headache when I plow through those previously unplowed areas.

First question is: I assume the trip springs are factory set and shouldn't be messed with? There looks to be and adjustment but I don't know if I should mess with it. Thoughts?

Second question: Having a Tacoma, I plow in 4-low and think I might be going too slow. Because of the tripping factor, sometimes I plow at a walking pace with my ass clenched waiting for it to trip! When I speed up (not sure of the exact MPH), it seems to trip less but it's more violent when it does. Which is worse?

Thanks guys.

Mark

2. snowman2025

snowman2025 Senior Member

You can adjust the trip springs on your plow. If I remember right, you tight the springs until you can fit a small piece of paper between the coils.

3. mnormington

mnormington Senior Member

I have the same plow and I have the springs cranked all the way tight. You can't put anything between the coils and it still trips pretty easily. I kinda wish I could stretch the springs even more. It seems like they are not the right size springs.

Small issue for me, really, but an issue just the same.