1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

    Dismiss Notice

2016 f550 diesel question

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by ajracing81, Oct 26, 2015.

  1. ajracing81

    ajracing81 Member
    Messages: 78

    So we just got a new truck at work. It's our first ford we have all Chevy duramax. They have a high idle and exhaust brake we were looking on the ford and didn't see anything. Like I said its our first ford so any help would be great. Like the truck so far besides the place that put the stake bed on it with the hitch off the frame didn't tell us or have anything saying you must remove the ball receiver before lift the bed. Found out the hard way and bent the rear panel of the bed all up!
     
  2. thelettuceman

    thelettuceman PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,216

    Found out the hard way and bent the rear panel of the bed all up!

    My blood pressure went sky hi just reading this. I would be in someone's face. It would be ugly.

    >>>> Best of luck with your 2016 <<<
     
  3. gtmustang00

    gtmustang00 Senior Member
    from Berlin
    Messages: 748

    Are those Chevy Duramax's chassis trucks? I have a 2016 F550 Diesel and love it btw.
     
  4. ajracing81

    ajracing81 Member
    Messages: 78

    This is our first chassis truck our duramax are all pick ups. We look at Chevys but want to be able to haul more.
     
  5. ajracing81

    ajracing81 Member
    Messages: 78

    Talked to the dealer we went through sent him pics and he didn't seem to care. We were looking at today with the bed all the way up there's not even an 3/4" between the rear panel of the bed and the hitch with out the receiver in. Not a good design by Monroe truck. I would think they would have more problems with this setup! Nothing like cutting apart bed that we haven't even had a week.
     
  6. 1olddogtwo

    1olddogtwo PlowSite Fanatic
    Messages: 11,554

    Let's see the pics, sounds like the bed isn't high enough off the frame
     
  7. unhcp

    unhcp PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,245

    The ford diesels starting in 15 and up has the same type of exhaust brake that Ram and GM use. Non of them are using a flapper style like BD, or "Jake Brake" like the big rigs.
     
  8. ajracing81

    ajracing81 Member
    Messages: 78

    So should there be a switch for it?
     
  9. unhcp

    unhcp PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,245

    there is a button next to the power outlet
     
  10. gtmustang00

    gtmustang00 Senior Member
    from Berlin
    Messages: 748

    Not all of them have the switch. I have only seen some pickups with them.
     
  11. unhcp

    unhcp PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,245

  12. SnoFarmer

    SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN
    Messages: 8,614

    Ram uses a variable geometry turbo, it has fins that move in the turbo to achieve the breaking effect all without a waste gate.

    I use mine, its the cats meow...

    A real Jake brake is built into the valve-train and costs much more.

    if it has a exhaust brake, it has a switch for it,
    default will be off.
    and I dont recommend using it on slippery conditions,

    ps only a diesel will have a exhaust brake,,,
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2015
  13. ajracing81

    ajracing81 Member
    Messages: 78

    So there's no switch it came as a cab/chassis with a diesel. Has a tow/haul button.
     
  14. SnoFarmer

    SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN
    Messages: 8,614

    No switch, no exhaust brake.

    It has nothing to do with tow/ haul or cab chassis.

    On fords its "available " as an option.
    Not like ram where it comes with the diesel
    http://www.fleet.ford.com/resources...s/2016/2016+Super+Duty+F-650+F-750+Diesel.pdf

    Or is ths engine breaking just a fun tin of a lock up torque converter.
    Becuse a engine brake is dangeous to use in the winter or in slippery conditions.

    So it would have a switch to turn it on.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2015
  15. SnoFarmer

    SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN
    Messages: 8,614

    Ram has a tow haul button also..

    Ok let me git this straight,
    The tow/haul button also controls the EB? (engine brake)



    so if your towing a heavy load on a slippery service you can't use tow/haul without also turning on the EB?

    This has to be one of furds stupider ideas?

    jmo...
     
  16. tjctransport

    tjctransport PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,390

    i use the engine brake all the.
    using an engine brake in rain is only a problem if you don't know how to drive.
     
  17. SnoFarmer

    SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN
    Messages: 8,614

    Who said rain constutes a slippery condition?
    I use mine all the time , except.....

    It's like down shifting to aggressively of useing the cruise control in slippery conditions, it cause the rear to step out.


    My EB is aggressive, producing over 100hp of braking power.
    Along with the more aggressive down shifting in tow/haul.


    ^^^But then if you never go over 25 mph it shouldn't be a issue.
     
  18. CjBonavenia

    CjBonavenia Member
    Messages: 35

    My 15 350 pickup has an exhaust brake button but I just got a 16 550 and it dose not also I am coming from all Chevy. D maxes and on our first 26 degree morning last week no high idle I called the dealer that morning and they said they do not have one they have a subliment cab heater that kicks in to heat the cab befor the engin heats up but idk how well it works Cuz 20 min of ideling hitch heat on high and my windows were still all frost
     
  19. SnoFarmer

    SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN
    Messages: 8,614

    I thought it would need a button.

    So when you start it, it doesn't idel up on its own in 5 minutes or so?

    Can you turn on the EB at idel? This will put a smal load in the engine
    Increasing the heat faster.

    Then another trick.
    Have them enable the PTO.
    This will let you manually increase the rpm's.
    You can use the PTO throttle control as a manual high idel.Thumbs Up
    ( it uses the cruise control functions as the control for the set throttle, to control the PTO rpm's.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2015
  20. CjBonavenia

    CjBonavenia Member
    Messages: 35

    That pto is a good idea and as for the exhaust break if u don't have a button like my 550 dose not then u don't have an exhaust break cuz I can hit the tow haul and all it dose is downshift and rev the motor my 350 witch has the button if u push it and go down hill it will stop u dead without a load lol with a load u here the turbo spool up and it slow u right down I just don't understand y they wouldn't put it in a heavy truck that is towing and hauling all the time