1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

2011 GMC auxiliary lights

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by mitchp, Oct 29, 2011.

1. mitchp

mitchp Member

Now that Ive been driving this truck for the past 3 months I can see that the factory fog lights are as bright as a flashlight. Not even close to the lights on my old truck, a 2005 Chevy 2500. Are there any upgrades that I can put in their place ? What about mounting a set of Hellas or something similar ?

2. RBRONKEMA GHTFD

RBRONKEMA GHTFD 2000 Club Member

You could always do hids.

3. My bowtie

My bowtie Senior Member

Fogs are not supposed to be brite. But i agree these trucks could use some additional lumens....

4. mossman381

mossman381 2000 Club Member

The fogs are not aux lights. They are for fog, heavy rain and snow. But if you want them brighter then HIDs are the way to go. Also keep in mind that HIDs are not legal. I never had any problems getting pulled over with mine. I am going to get a set for my 02.

Factory lights on the left and HIDs on the right

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

5. jgsxr750

jgsxr750 Member

HID's

Just be careful with HID's. I installed them in my 2007 Tahoe with 35w ballasts and they bulbs melted my fog light housings. had to fight with the supplier to get them to replace the housings. they finally sent another set of fog and housings with 24w ballasts. even the regular head lights started to get a film/ fog in the housing from the HID's. stupid plastic housing don't like the heat that the HID's put out. i run HID's in two other vehicle with no issues. go figure. but i have to tell you it is night and day with visibility when you have the HID;s installed.

6. mitchp

mitchp Member