1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

2011 F350 4400lb axle/spring upgrade?

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by tobicat, Nov 10, 2014.

1. tobicat

tobicat Junior Member

Hello all. I've been running a landscape business for many years and have had commercial customers asking me if I was interested in snow removal contracts for the last three years. I've been content not entering this field, but my employees have encouraging me to take it on. So after doing a little research and speaking to a Western Plow rep, I decided to buy a additional truck for plowing and adding a salter to one of my other trucks.

I bought a 2011 Ford F350 Reg cab 4x4 with a 6.2 litre gas engine. The rep recommended a f350 4x4 so that's what I did. What he didn't mention was that I needed a 4800lb min front axle for any of their plows. Perhaps I'm to blame for not doing my homework but seeing that I met him in person to discuss plows and trucks and he never mentioned the different axle ratings I assumed I was good. As soon as I got home I googled the issue which brought me to this site. I read some older posts which mentioned the axles are the same but the springs are different and that all you have to do is upgrade the springs and your good to go. These posts were from over ten years ago so I'm wondering if this advice is still valid. Any help would be much appreciated. CHEERS!

2. alldayrj

alldayrj PlowSite.com Addict

You ordered a new truck and didn't get the $85 plow prep package?

3. tobicat

tobicat Junior Member

Thanks for response alldayrj.