1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

2009 2500 Suspension ?

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by IA Farmer, Feb 25, 2010.

1. IA Farmer

IA Farmer Senior Member

I have a snowplow on my 2009 CCSB. I am wondering if I put reindexing keys on it to level the front end if that will help carry the weight of the plow or if timbrens would be better. I want to level the truck anyways I am just wondering if the new keys stiffin the suspension at all? Thanks

2. GripTruk

GripTruk Senior Member

I'm no expert on this but as far as I know whether you use keys or just crank the bars, the ride should be the same if you're sitting at the same height. Neither will increase the weight carrying capacity, they will just make the truck start out higher. If your truck sits at 25 inches and sags to 23 with the plow, and you raise it to 28 inches, it will still sag 2 inches, but that 2 inches would be 26 inches now. Timbrens will actually stop or reduce the sag.

I have the same truck but an extended cab and i wouldn't say it sags much, it just is pretty low to begin with, so you might be fine with just cranking it. At a certain point you'll either need to get new shocks or relocate them.

If I had gotten my truck back from the body shop today as they promised me I could tell you right now, but it's snowing, and instead of being out plowing I'm sitting here on the computer. :(

-Jer

3. mossman381

mossman381 2000 Club Member

My 08 sags about 1". I set my z-height to the factory specified 4.5". I took 5 turns on the t-bar bolts to get the z-height to factory specs.

4. marylandbigb

marylandbigb Member