1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

2008 2500HD w/ 6.6L questions

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by High Voltage, Oct 26, 2008.

1. High Voltage

High Voltage Member
    from MI

OK I am new to the plow world. I own a 2008 GMC Ex. cab standard box with a 6.6L Duramax. I am thinking of going with a Boss 8' super duty plow, although it is not recommended I guess. To correct this I was thinking of throwing on Timbers in the front and maybe the rear to (I do a lot of towing).

I would like to hear from a few of you on your thoughts of going this route seeing my truck is not just for plowing. Should I try to find a lighter plow or is this going to be a good setup for my truck?

Does anyone have this truck or a crew?

2. OhioPlower

OhioPlower Senior Member

I have a 04 regular cab Dmax with a 8.5 ft boss superduty. no timbrens, torsion bars turned up about 5 turns. My front end drops maybe an inch with that blade. Put at least 700 pounds of salt in the back and you will be good no timbrens needed, crank your torsion bars too. you will be fine with an 8 footer.

3. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic

I have a 2004 crew dually with a 8'6" Western V with wings. I wouldn't think twice about using that plow. I would go bigger if it was my truck, but that's just me.

4. High Voltage

High Voltage Member
    from MI

I just noticed Blizzard speed wing plows. The 76 is under 600lbs. Is this a good plow or should I just stick with the bossHD? I was also looking at sno-way 29 series.

5. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic