1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

2004 Wrangler Snapped Spline Shaft on Rear

Discussion in 'Jeeps' started by pralfa, Mar 3, 2010.

1. pralfa

pralfa Junior Member

I just upgraded to a 2004 Wrangler and sold the 1995 Wrangler. Started plowing my driveway, went to back up and bang, The rear spline shaft broke at the balancer.
    This jeep only has 30k on it. Has any one else had this problem?
    thanks

2. JN16184

JN16184 Member

I've been building and working on Jeeps for over 35 years and I don't have a clue what you're saying broke. The only "balancer" is on the front of the engine that I can think of. If a rear axle broke at the splines and the axle slid out, I'd understand that. The typical rear axle in Wranglers is a Dana 35, it's a real turd and not worth dumping money into. A typical rear axle upgrade is a Ford 8.8 out of an Explorer. Find the right ratio one and you get a much stronger rear axle and disk brakes.

3. micklock

micklock Senior Member

I think he is talking about the transfer case output shaft with the harmonic balancer, mine has one also.

4. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member
    from MA

If that is what he is talking about, the ONLY time I've seen one brake was in Moab UT when a YJ with a V8 (the only mod, the rest of the jeep was stock) was doing Mother in law and blew up the output shaft, a rear axle, a front axle and a wheel at the same time. :laughing:

"Its amazing what you can break with a V8":eek:

5. pralfa

pralfa Junior Member

2004 Wrangler Snapped Output Shaft

Hi,