1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

2000 Ford Ranger

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by maxcalvada, Jun 4, 2009.

1. maxcalvada

maxcalvada Junior Member

I've been shopping around for a smaller 4wd vehicle for my landscaping business and also for limited plowing of mostly city driveways for some of my clients.

I'm thinking of purchasing a 2000 Ford Ranger -- Super Cab Pickup 3.0L V6 FI 4wd and 3 inch lift. I'm looking to fit it with a 6 or 6.5 ft plow. The seller says this would be no problem. He says the 3 inch lifts would be especially desirable for plowing.

I'm new to trucks and plowing and want to make sure this is good for my needs. Any comments would be appreciated.

Thanks.

2. albhb3

albhb3 PlowSite Veteran

you will want to go with the 4.0 min or maybe a good used f250

3. MickiRig1

MickiRig1 PlowSite Veteran

Compare full size to Ranger size and you will find you do not gain much going small.
    A Ranger will plow driveways and tow a landscape trailer. You pay more for a smaller plow because they are rare compared to full size setups. Some parts for the plow like trip springs are more costly. Your working the light duty truck more then it was designed for. So it breaks more parts and wears out parts quicker. Where a full size truck is designed to work harder then a light duty. Hence you have less repairs and head aches in the long run with a full size truck. Use the Internet and search trucks. Deals are out there. Really try to stay away from used plow trucks. They for the most part are trouble. If you can't repair your own stuff they can be a money pit.

4. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa