1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

2000 f250 5.4

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by oppi2010, Feb 4, 2011.

1. oppi2010

oppi2010 Junior Member

hi im new to the business. i have a 2000 ford f250 with a 9 foot unimount. the mount i set at 11 inches off the ground. when the plow is on the i think it sits way to close to the ground. i hit some driveway curbs. what can i do to help this.
    what do you think of the 5.4 for plowing

2. mulchmonkey2000

mulchmonkey2000 Senior Member

Do you have any weight in the back of the truck? I usually carry atleast 500 lbs of salt in the back. That will also help with traction as well. I still have some driveways that i have to be careful with or i'll hit had with the plow when i'm driving in or out. The 5.4 is an awesome engine. I had a chevy diesel before and believe this engine is just as strong as that was, if not more. So, get some weight in the back and Good luck!! :waving:

3. oppi2010

oppi2010 Junior Member

thanks ill get some weight back there what year do you use and what size plow

4. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

raise the mount

5. TJS

TJS PlowSite.com Addict

5.4 hmm let's see where to start. Oh, be prepared to replace the exhaust manifolds and studs, if not already done. Also be prepared to re-thread (time sert insert) the spark plug hole that blew out a plug and took a COP (coil on plug) with it. I had this happen and now have lower compression in that cylinder. I am not taking the head off till spring. I can keep going...
    T.J.

6. mulchmonkey2000

mulchmonkey2000 Senior Member