1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

2 wheel drive plow truck

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by sharpeguy, Feb 16, 2016.

1. sharpeguy

sharpeguy Junior Member

I have a 2001 Chevy dump body 2 wd I bought last July its been a great truck. I am thinking about turning it into a plow truck with a salter in the bed. My set up would be a boss DXT probably the 8'2" and the VBX 2 yard spreader. I figured with some good tires it should be ok. Please let me know your thoughts and experience. I have a f350 I have been using for the past 5 years but I would like to expand. Thank you!

dump.jpg

2. BUFF

BUFF PlowSite Fanatic
    from FR NoCo

Run studded tires with an aggressive tread.
    Think aboot a 9.2 instead of the 8.2, the 8.2 won't be wide enough to clear the duals when angled.

3. Philbilly2

Philbilly2 2000 Club Member

x2 on the wider plow. training wheels run over your windrow on a smaller than 9 foot balde.

As for the 2wd. Try a search in the upper right of the screen. This has been debated since the birth of plowsite. You can find hours if not days of reading material in numberous threads.

Weight, good tires, and a driver with a brain are the most important things. It can be done, many of us have done it for years and it works fine. Truck will get stuck every now and then when driver goes into hero mode, but 4wd trucks get stuck in hero mode too! Thumbs Up

Welcome to the site and good luck with what your choose to do!

4. sharpeguy

sharpeguy Junior Member

Thank you for the advice I didn't consider a wider plow due to the duals!

5. sharpeguy

sharpeguy Junior Member