1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

2 Wd Truck

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by McGrail Lawn & Snow, Mar 8, 2003.

1. McGrail Lawn & Snow

McGrail Lawn & Snow Junior Member

Ok I am new to snow plowing.
    I have been doing snow removal with a trailer and snow blower for 3 years and am tired of it.

I have a lawn care business and buying a 2wd pick up truck.

I plan on putting a tool box at the front of the bed for tools. And the smallside boxes that go over the axels and tires.

I plan on filling the side boxes with sand in the winter.

If I put a snow plow on the front of the truck can I expect it to work a light snow. Up to 4"

And also to plow the slush at the end of the drive after the snow plow goes by.

Please let me know if this might work or is this a waist of money.

I am already buying the truck
    and it will have a snow blower in the back because I have house that a plow wont fit on. MUST BE SNOW BLOWED.

So please let me know if this might work
    Thank you

2. jbutch83

jbutch83 Senior Member

Will it work, sometimes. Will you be happy with it, no. Spend the extra money and get a 4X4, if not, stick with the snowblower. Do a search, alot of questions on 2 wheel drive.

John

3. elitelandscape

elitelandscape Member

A 2wd drive truck works about as go as a mower without the mower deck. You may as well buy a 4wd and then you can carry heavy equipment with out the As_ end saggin.

cheers

4. John DiMartino

John DiMartino PlowSite.com Veteran