1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

2 spreaders needed

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by staley52, Dec 19, 2001.

1. staley52

staley52 Member
    from Iowa

I am in need of recomendations for 2 speaders
    first I am just starting out on my own away from the company I have a 84 s10 with a 6.5 blade and want to find a 6' slide in sander preferably electric not a hitch mount I need the hitch for the trailer and a slide in has more volume availible
    second I would like to find a small electric spreader to mount on the garden tractor just got a account with alot of long sidewalks. or would you rec a medium towed spreader?

2. OBRYANMAINT

OBRYANMAINT PlowSite.com Veteran
    from ohio

i think you would be better suited to a tailgate spreader with an s-10 due to weight constraints.....

3. CT18fireman

CT18fireman Banned

Ice o way, smith and downeaster all make six small lightweight models. Smith and Downeaster make electrics. With a little suspension help in the rear the s-10 will handle the weight. My Toyota can take the sander and a yard of mix. I added some springs to it and tried the Timbrens. They work well.

4. BRL

BRL PlowSite.com - Veteran

I have seen one company around here with a couple of S-10's with V-boxes in them (small ones, 1 -1.5 yd boxes at most). They didn't look like they had beefed up the suspension a whole lot, but they were using them. I wouldn't have been comfortable driving those trucks as they were, but they were getting the job done, so it is possible.

5. John DiMartino

John DiMartino PlowSite.com Veteran