1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

2-3 compared to 6

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by cutbetterthanyo, Jan 21, 2011.

1. cutbetterthanyo

cutbetterthanyo Senior Member

I have never done this before, but i have a custamer that whats a custom contract. He want one price for me to push his lot from 1-6 inches after the storm is over, but before his store opens at 8. Anything over 6 he want to handle himself with his tractor. The reason being he lives 30 mins from his store and don't feel like bringing in the tractor for that little bit, but anything over 6 our town pratically shuts down any way. My big problem is i have never waited to push 6 inchs. I never have pushed more than 4 so how much long does it take to do 6 compared to 2-3? Is it twice as long, i doubt it. Can someone give me a idea. The lot i am refering to shoul take 30-45 mins with 2-3 how long do you guys think with 6?

NICHOLS LANDSCA PlowSite Veteran

Run away, as for time it could easily take twice as long for the 6" it all depends on the lot. I guess if you want the work figure your per time price as if you were plowing 4". I see it being a pain in the rear, what happens when you get 5" with drifting and you plow it then he shows up with his tractor. He's not going to want to pay you. Good luck. I'd put something in the contract that states you will have X amount of the lot done by 8am if there is more than X amount of snow, seeing that you have to wait until it's done snowing before you can plow.
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2011
  3. cutbetterthanyo

cutbetterthanyo Senior Member