1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

1991 Suburban 1/2 ton 4x4 - newbie post warning! LONG

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by daniel_bergamini, Aug 25, 2003.

1. daniel_bergamini

daniel_bergamini Member

Hey all, sorry if I get anything wrong, this is my first post and I'm new to all this. I just bought a 1991 1/2 ton Suburban, 113k miles, 4x4, 4 speed overdrive tranny, heavy duty tow package, 3.73 locking rear, quad suspension in the front, and new BFG TA/KO 31x10.5r15lt all around (what else do you need to know?). I bought the truck in pretty rough shape. There was one blown plug that needed to be extracted and it needed a new water pump and radiator. I put a heavy duty water pump and radiator in there, did a tune up and oil change and she purrs like a kitten now.

We are building a little house on some land up in New Hampshire, and I'm thinking of putting a plow on it to plow the 1100' gravel driveway. Right now we're just using it as a people mover and to move furniture, etc. I am doing my research to see what I need before I actually need it.

A guy up the street has a late 80's K-5 1500 Blazer with a Fisher SpeedCast - I think he said 7.5'. He says he sold the pump for it, but is willing to sell me the part that hooks up to the truck and the plow itself as he doesn't want/need it anymore for lack of use. I am of the belief that I can just bolt this right on my suburban with very little effort. What is a good price for what he has and should I buy it? If not, what should I be looking for and what should I expect to pay?