1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

1990 Chevy 1/2 ton Overheating problem

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by tough85bronco, Nov 10, 2009.

1. tough85bronco

tough85bronco Junior Member

I am new to setting up and owning my own truck plow! I picked up a older hiniker 9' straight blade. I put it on my half ton after cranking the torsion bars a bit and it is not to bad of fit and the weight issue is not terrible! I do however have a issue with the truck overheating with the plow on! It is about 50 degrees out and today I put a 180 degree thermostat and a Solid flex fan(Reverse rotation to match factory) instead of a fan clutch set up! It still overheats as I drive! When I pull over and put the truck in park it comes down slowly unless I rev the engine then it comes down fast! Even downhill in neutral it continues to heat up! Only cools down in park! Anyone have any ideas? Is it just to warm outside to drive with it on? Thanks
    Ryan

2. sechracer

sechracer Senior Member

angle and or drop the blade a little. he plow is blocking the wind from hitting the radiator...

3. tough85bronco

did that, 1" off the ground angled left or right made no difference

4. JoeCool

JoeCool Senior Member
    from Canada

The rad just doesn't have the capacity to cool it anymore. Flushing might work or re-core it.

5. tough85bronco

what about grabbing a good 3 core out of a 3/4 ton?

6. plowinginma

plowinginma Senior Member
    from MA

straight is the best way to deal with over heating.. In my opinion..And it is rather warm out..

7. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707

Read your trucks owners manual they state low and angled.