1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

1989 chevrolet k1500 charging

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by gamesniper, Nov 13, 2014.

1. gamesniper

gamesniper Junior Member

Hi guys I'm new to the sight anyone have charging issues with these trucks at Idle I have battery voltage just above idle have 14.5 volts also when working meyers plow volt Guage goes way low and battery light illuminates .replaced alternator battery test good ck grounds ran cable from alternator to + battery terminal. Ckd draw a on pump motor 150 amps ...any ideas what to ck or fixes
    Thanks

2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

You have 12.4 @ idle?
    150 draw on a plow is about right

3. gamesniper

gamesniper Junior Member

Yep 12.4 at Idle. With just a little increase rpm Guage pops up to 14 volts.just put truck together didn't plow yet hope battery stays up

4. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Are you relying on the factory gauge for all this?

5. gamesniper

gamesniper Junior Member

Nope checking with fluke meter at battery and check at alternator wire

6. Banksy

Banksy PlowSite Veteran

I checked my Honda Civic's charging voltage at the battery with a mulit-meter yesterday as part of an oil and tranny fluid change. I had 13v's with the car off and 14.3 at idle. I think you should see 1-2 volts above normal batter level at idle.

7. montec

montec Junior Member
    from ND

12.4@ idle is low are you going off the battery or off the back pin on the alt?

I know these trucks are not known to have the highest charging system on them.