1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

1988 ford f150 western plow install

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by Alaskanoil, Feb 28, 2016.

1. Alaskanoil

Alaskanoil Junior Member

ey everybody,
    I am new to this, but I just bought a western plow with everything including the unimount kit and cables off of a local fb page. I need help installing it, such as install instructions. It is the old style hydraulic cables. I have found some manuals online with the cable and wiring i structions, but I am not sure how to hook the mount to my truck. I think this is the mount that goes behind my bumper.The mount is for my 88 f150. Any help would be awesome. I will answer any questions you have. I will try to figure out pics.

2. Randall Ave

Randall Ave PlowSite.com Addict

Throw some pics up of what you have. The plow is run by 2 cables?

3. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

So it's a conventional mount western.
    Did this plow come off a truck that is in the same year(s) as yours?

4. Alaskanoil

Alaskanoil Junior Member

It came off the truck with the year range 80-91 f-250

5. dieselss

6. Alaskanoil

Alaskanoil Junior Member

pics

[/ATTACH][/ATTACH][/ATTACH]

this what I have.

plow pic 1.jpg

plow pic 2.jpg

plow pic 3.jpg

plow pic 4.jpg

7. dieselss

That unimount mount will not work with the conventional plow. So just put that aside or sell it, or other

8. Randall Ave

I think that is a conventional mount. Beat to death, but conventional. The op has all summer to do the install. I have a brand new hand control cable setup on the shelf if needed. Before you install this make sure the hydraulic unit works.

9. dieselss