1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

1979 chevy plow truck

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by shanta74, Sep 9, 2007.

1. shanta74

shanta74 Member

i am new to plowing have only plowed a few parking lots before. i recently bought a 1979 chevy k20 truck with a 350, 5 speed manual, and one ton axels and a 7.5' plow. i was wondering if anyone else was plowing with this set up and how its working. i am plowing a 150' gravel driveway with a big dip in the middle and a lot of wind and drifting and maybee some neighbors driveways.

thanks david.

Last edited: Sep 10, 2007
  2. KeeblerBP

KeeblerBP Member

As long as you don't mind shifting it will be just fine. I started out with a very similar set up.

3. Mark13

Mark13 PlowSite Fanatic

From what I have heard, those trucks are extremely durable.
    Good luck with the plowing.

4. shanta74

shanta74 Member

thanks i have heard they are tough trucks i have been testing it in the woods behind my house and found the extra granny gear very usefull i think it will do just fine in the snow this year. now i cant wait till it snows to try it out.

5. Spinman710

Spinman710 Member

I have an '84 K20. The only thing that I had an issue with is ice packed snow on a gravel parking lot...Once I put the feet on the bottom, it worked fine...otherwise, a very good setup.

6. Beater_K20

Beater_K20 Member

i've got a '77 K20 with a TH350/NP203 combo in it that i have been pushing with for 4 years now, and my grandfather pushed for 3 before that. it works great! i'll be going to look at a 79 K20 to replace it tomorrow.