1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

1500-2500 ???

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by rfed32, Jan 4, 2006.

1. rfed32

rfed32 Senior Member

so ive been in touch wiht the insurance about my lil accedent last week and seeing that the truck is totaled i am looking into new trucks....i found two that i like so far

1996 dodge 2500 deseil with the extended cab bed topper(i would take off and sell or something like that) its got 90k they want around $10,000

or a 1999 gmc seria 1500 with 54k they want 13000

the both have an 8foot bed, auto trans, 4x4

what do u guys think will be best.....all i have is a small landscaping bussiness and i am a contractor...i have a few lil stuff to plow...i am leaning towards the GMC online b.c i know its not big and it will be a good personal truck as well, and i can get get the snoway mt26 for it....but a desiel will last forever i caan pull the skidster with it i can do a lot more with it in the long run...ahhh i dunno

a lil help would be great

Last edited: Jan 4, 2006
  2. clark lawn

clark lawn PlowSite.com Addict
    from NE ohio

if you are going to pull any kind of load get the 2500 you will need the stronger suspention and brakes the diesel is justa bonus

3. green leaf

green leaf Junior Member

I would go with the 2500. I would do a search first and get some info on a diesel before you make a choice. I have a 2500 diesel and I will never buy anything but diesel now.
    Things you should know - diesel can cost more to maintain from oil changes to fuel filters, but you need to see if the extra costs out weigh the performance you will get in return ( witch I believe they do).
    Good Luck-Darren

4. pools&plowingct