1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

14000 sq ft

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by clncut, Aug 19, 2004.

1. clncut

clncut PlowSite.com Addict

I was asked to place a bid on a lot that is just over 14000 sq ft with a small gravel drive next to the main lot. The lot is pretty much wide open.

This is my first year plowing and would like your input on my guestimations.

25 min. to complete at 2-4" of snow

2-4" - 32.00

4-8" - 45.00

8-12" - 60.00 with an additional 1.oo / inch over 12

No salt will be added, those are plowing prices only.

What do you guys think? Please some help here would be great.

2. Bolts Indus.

Bolts Indus. PlowSite.com Addict

If you are using a straight blade plow I would charge.

2-4--- 25 min.---32.00 If that includes travel time.
    4-8----------------64.00 + if inclined to give discount.
    8-12---------------94.00 + if inclined to give discount.

It is my experience using a straight blade, that double the snow cannot be done in double the time.

3. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

While I agree with Dave that double snow depth cannot be done in double the time, I do charge as you showed. Just how I do it. Others do as he showed. You will have to decide this. But as far as times, I answered your post about this on the other forum.

4. Bolts Indus.

Thanks Mick. Doing it your way, does it work out for you in terms of profit? I run by the hour mostly so I'm willing to learn.

5. Mick

from Maine