1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

1.99 acre lot - School

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by plowin-thru, Oct 31, 2010.

1. plowin-thru

plowin-thru Junior Member

Hey i know the drill, nobody wants to give out price sheets and help the competition get jobs, but heres my scenario...

1.99 acre lot. Front half is parking lot and drive way which need to be salted. back half is plowing only no salt. Im new to salting and when i price it out, the job more than doubles.

i plowed it last year for 1150 3" trigger...otherwise i wasnt showing up. (as per contract)

this year, they want full service and salt on half the lot... salt price MUST be included so i jumped from 1150 to 3150 based on 5 tonns per month at 250tonn...i figure 1/2tonn per visit, banking on 10 visits or less per month

hot or cold? high or low? out to lunch? ANY AND ALL INPUT WELCOME, IM NOT A SENSATIVE B!T@#

throw me a bone! im young, hungry and got lots invested already

2. newhere

newhere PlowSite.com Addict
    from Fenton

Dang 250 a ton !! That's peelin it in !

3. plowin-thru

ok keep in mind thats a guarenteed salt on every slippery condition. no extra charge for any visit. no extra tonnage if need be. service has increased from 3' trigger to full serve and under no condition will extra chaarges be applied

4. JohnnyRoyale

JohnnyRoyale 2000 Club Member

Which school board is this for? Suprised all tenders havent closed yet.

5. plowin-thru

they're closed. im trying to obtain the lot from the contractor for a reasonable difference.

6. JohnnyRoyale

Which board?...I may have the numbers.

Last edited: Oct 31, 2010
  7. plowin-thru