1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

$1,700 too much for this plow?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by jasonrose, Sep 24, 2007.

1. jasonrose

jasonrose Junior Member

Hi all, I think this is my first time posting over here in the frozen tundra... Long time Lawnsite member. I have the opportunity to buy a Western straight plow (7.5'), it's older and needs a repainting, but it all works 100%. It's coming off an older Chevy truck (80 or so model) and part of the price includes getting it mounted up to my 1998 Dodge 3/4 ton.

The "package deal" comes with 3 plow accounts, total gross per snow is around $550 or so.

My problem is, I feel that it's still a pretty steep price for an older plow that size, even though it does work and has a newer motor. The price WAS 1,250 but once the guy thought about it, and remembered the acounts that were to go with it, he changed his tune. Finding plows around here, used, is rare. This is not plow country, though we do have at least 3 or 4 plowable snows per winter, sometimes hit with more. Nothing ever over 10 inches or so. Hence it's hard to find them around here, and to buy new I think they are pushing $5,000.

My next thought, since i'm kinda commited to buy this already :dizzy: is to buy a set of plow wings for it to add a little width and make things easier... This will be my first plow, and driving a plow, ever (other than the 4' plow on the front of my mower, lol.)

Any thoughts, please!? :confused:
  2. Camden

Camden PlowSite Fanatic